You are here

Meet the board

We are governed by a Board that comprises an international group of experts, bringing together high-level experience and varied perspectives of hydropower.

The current Board was elected in July 2019, with the new members taking up their positions in September 2019. They are elected for the period to September 2021. Learn more about IHA Board elections.


  • Roger GILL

    Roger Gill has over 40 years of experience in the renewable energy sector with a particular focus on hydropower. He has a civil engineering background...

    Read more

Chief Executive

  • Eddie RICH

    Eddie Rich became Chief Executive Officer of the International Hydropower Association (IHA) in September 2019.

    Read more

Vice presidents

  • Christine CANTIN

    Christine Cantin has multidisciplinary professional experience. After graduating from Université Laval in 1990...

    Read more
  • Colin CLARK

    Colin Clark is Chief Technical Officer of Brookfield Renewable. He is the senior executive providing global leadership of...

    Read more
  • Tammy CHU

    Tammy Chu is managing director of Entura, a power and water consulting firm that is part of the Hydro Tasmania Group...

    Read more
  • Gil MARANHÃO Neto

    Gil Maranhão Neto has been working in the Brazilian electricity sector since 1994, and for GDF Suez since 1996, where he is...

    Read more

    Dr Óli Sveinsson is the Executive Vice President of Research and Development at Landsvirkjun, the National Power Company of Iceland.

    Read more

    Uwe Wehnhardt is the President and CEO of Voith Hydro.

    Read more

Board members

  • Irene Cañas Díaz

    Irene Cañas Díaz is the Chief Executive Officer and Chairwoman of the ICE Group Board.

    Read more

    Thibault is the Chief Marketing Officer of GE Renewable Energy and an IHA Board Member for 2019-2021.

    Read more
  • Dingming ZHANG

    Dingming Zhang is the Executive Vice President of China Three Gorges Corporation.

    Read more
  • Herbie JOHNSON

    Herbie Johnson is General Manager at Southern Company. 

    Read more
  • Frédéric HOFMANN

    Frédéric Hofmann is Vice-President in charge of Development at EDF Hydro, EDF. He has over 15 years of experience in the hydropower sector. Mr Hofmann joined the IHA Board in 2019.

    Read more
  • Anton-Louis OLIVIER

    Anton-Louis Olivier is CEO of the REH Group companies, which comprises Renewable Energy Holdings (Pty) Ltd, REH Project Development (Pty) Ltd, REH Operations and Maintenance (Pty) Ltd and a number

    Read more
  • WU Shiyong

    Deputy General Manager, Yalong River Hydropower Development Company

    Read more

    Tron Engebrethsen has over 17 years of experience leading power generation at Statkraft...

    Read more
  • Moises Machava 2017

    Moisés MACHAVA

    Moisés Machava is an executive director of Hidroeléctrica de Cahora Bassa (HCB), based in Mozambique. He is in charge of the technical field, covering hydropower generation and other support services areas...

    Read more
  • Sharbini SUHAILI

    Sharbini Suhaili is Group CEO of Sarawak Energy, a state-owned corporation entrusted with the overall development...

    Read more
  • Evgeniy Tikhonov 2017

    Evgeniy TIKHONOV

    Evgeniy Tikhonov joined the IHA Board in September 2017. He is Chief Development and Strategy Director of EuroSibEnergo (ESE)...

    Read more