You are here

IHA Blue Planet Prize


The IHA Blue Planet Prize is awarded to hydropower projects that demonstrate excellence in sustainable development.

The prize is awarded on the basis of an assessment using the Hydropower Sustainability Assessment Protocol, a tool that measures the sustainability of a hydropower project across a range of social, environmental, technical and economic aspects.

Apply for the 2019 prize

IHA is now accepting entries for the 2019 Blue Planet Prize, for which the winner will be announced at the World Hydropower Congress in May 2019 in Paris, France.

To be considered for the prize, please download and complete the application form and return it to IHA's Sustainability Administration Officer Kay Rhodes at by 31 December 2018.

For further information on the entry criteria and application process, please download the eligibility and application process document

Read the press release for the 2019 prize.

Information for applicants

For a hydropower project to be considered for the IHA Blue Planet Prize, it must have undergone an official assessment under the Hydropower Sustainability Assessment Protocol.

The protocol was developed through cross-sector consensus and is governed by a forum that includes governments, environmental and social NGOs, commercial and development banks, and industry. Find out more at

Applications will be judged by a panel of experts selected by the IHA Board. Shortlisted projects not selected for the prize will be recognised as ‘highly commended’.

Blanda project

The 2017 prize was awarded to the Blanda project in Iceland, developed and operated by Landsvirkjun. 

To find out more about the Blanda project, view IHA's short winner's documentary: 

Blanda hydropower project: IHA Blue Planet Prize winner 2017



The IHA Blue Planet Prize was awarded to seven projects between 2001 and 2017 in recognition of good sustainability practice:

  • Blanda hydropower project, Iceland (2017)
  • Andhikhola hydel and rural electrification scheme, Nepal (2005)
  • Arrow Lakes power plant, Canada (2005)
  • Sechelt Creek power plant, Canada (2005)
  • Salto Caxias project, Brazil (2003)
  • Palmiet pumped storage scheme, South Africa (2003)
  • King River hydropower development, Tasmania, Australia (2001)